Elevators, Escalators and Related Equipment Safety and Licensing
Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about obtaining a TDLR license or renewing a TDLR license that expired while serving on active duty, please go to the Military Outreach home page.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Stay up-to-date on recent developments with email notifications. Get info on changes to laws and rules, important notices, upcoming meetings, and more.
News and Updates
TDLR Notice of Rule Review
August 24, 2018
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Department) is reviewing the Elevators, Escalators, and Related Equipment program (Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 74) for re-adoption, revision, or repeal.
The Department will determine whether the reasons for adopting or readopting these rules continue to exist by answering the following questions for each rule:
- Is it obsolete?
- Does it reflect current legal and policy considerations?
- Is it in alignment with the current procedures of the Department?
The Department encourages anyone interested in the Elevators, Escalators, and Related Equipment program to review the Notice of Intent and current Chapter 74 rules online. Comments may be submitted by email to email@example.com
Deadline for comments: September 24, 2018
TDLR Proposes Administrative Rules
July 20, 2018
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation proposes amendments to the Elevators, Escalators, and Related Equipment program rules (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 74, §74.100). The proposed amendments update references, add ASME A17.1 code changes, and renumber accordingly.
The proposed rules are published in the July 20, 2018, issue of the Texas Register (43 TexReg 4815). The Department will accept comments on the proposal until August 20, 2018.
The Department encourages anyone interested in the Elevators, Escalators, and Related Equipment program to review the rule proposal online. Comments may be submitted by email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
New Technology Variances Posted
May 25, 2018
Was Your Elevator or Escalator Damaged During Harvey?
September 22, 2017
If your elevator or escalator was damaged or submerged, then it is important that the equipment be assessed by a TDLR-licensed Elevator Contractor prior to being placed back into operation.
TEMPORARY SUSPENSION of Expedited Plan Review Fees for Equipment Located in Affected Counties
If alterations are required for your elevator, escalator, and related equipment (not routine maintenance and service), then the equipment alterations must be submitted to TDLR for plan review.
To help with Harvey recovery efforts, TDLR will expedite plan reviews from the affected counties identified in Governor Greg Abbott’s disaster proclamation. TDLR is suspending the $1,000 Expedited Review Fee and only charging the standard Plan Review Fee of $200. Please coordinate with your TDLR-licensed Elevator Contractor on how to properly designate your plan review submittal.
TEMPORARY SUSPENSION of Removed from Service Fees for Equipment Located in Affected Counties
If damage to your elevator, escalator, and related equipment will delay obtaining your required annual inspection, you may request that the equipment be Removed from Service without having to pay the $20 fee. Please coordinate with your TDLR-licensed Elevator Inspector on how to properly submit your Removed from Service request and have the equipment locked out in accordance with our Administrative Rules.
Questions? Email email@example.com or call 1-800-803-9202 between 7:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. CDT Monday through Friday.
Changes to the Elevators, Escalators and Related Equipment law
September 1, 2015
Senate Bill 1296 passed by the 84th Texas Legislature, amended Health and Safety Code, Chapter 754, relating to nonsubstantive additions to and corrections in enacted codes, to the nonsubstantive codification or disposition of various laws omitted from enacted codes, and to conforming codifications enacted by the 83rd Legislature to other Acts of that Legislature. Senate Bill 1296 and the changes to Chapter 754 became effective September 1, 2015. TDLR encourages all persons interested in the elevators, escalators and related equipment program to review the updated Health and Safety Code, Chapter 754.
Key Safety Benefits of Senate Bill 673
September 1, 2013
Senate Bill 673 (SB 673), relating to elevators, escalators, and related equipment, was passed during the 83rd Legislative Session and signed by Governor Perry on June 14, 2013. To make sure building owners stay well-informed, we are now spreading the message about the most important upcoming changes affecting building owners as a result of SB 673:
As of JANUARY 1, 2014:
The building owner will be required to send all elevator inspection reports to TDLR within 30 days of the date of inspection. Currently, elevator inspection reports are due 60 days after the date of inspection.
Elevator inspectors will be required to deliver inspection reports to building owners within FIVE (5) calendar days of the inspection. Currently, the inspector has 10 days to deliver the report to the building owner.
As of December 1, 2011, passenger elevators in Texas must meet the safety standard requirements set out in Chapter 754 of the Health and Safety Code. Any passenger elevator without door restrictors or found to have non-working door restrictors after December 1 will immediately be removed from service. The elevator will not be placed back into service until it is inspected and all required safety features are verified by a registered elevator inspector.
Advisory Board Meetings
Previous Meeting - August 22, 2018
Questions? Contact TDLR at 800-803-9202 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.