Examination Information

The licensing examination consists of a written test, a practical test, and a jurisprudence test. A temporary training permit holder must pass both the written test and the practical test, and complete the jurisprudence test, to apply for an apprentice permit.

Jurisprudence Test

Applicants must successfully complete the Texas Fitters and Dispensers of Hearing Instruments Jurisprudence Examination and submit a certificate of completion prior to receiving a hearing instrument fitter and dispenser license or an apprentice permit.

The Texas Hearing Instrument Fitter and Dispenser Jurisprudence Examination content is based on the state and federal laws, rules, and regulations relating to the fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments.

Eligibility

No authorization is needed from the department to take the Jurisprudence Test.

If you took the jurisprudence test to receive your initial license, you will not need to retake it to renew your license.

Location and Dates

The test is offered online. After paying the fees, you may log in and begin taking the test. Your certificate will be available to print upon successful completion.

Test Fee

The test fee is $34. Fees are paid directly to the testing vendor (eStrategy Solutions, Inc). Fees are subject to change without notice.

Please note, upon paying the jurisprudence test registration fee, your test must be completed within 30 days. After 30 days, your fee and registration will expire and your test will be invalidated. To take the jurisprudence test again, you will need to re-register and pay a new fee.

Take the Jurisprudence Test


Written Test

The written test is the International Licensing Examination for Hearing Instrument Dispensers test administered by the International Hearing Society (IHS).  The IHS will contact eligible candidates by email with instructions to schedule your test. Please ensure TDLR has your current email address on file.

Eligibility

To be eligible to take the written test, you must either hold a current temporary training permit, or apply as an out-of-state license holder.

TDLR will approve temporary training permit holders to take the written test once the direct supervised practicum has been completed and the Temporary Training Permit Supervised Practicum Affidavit (PDF) has been approved by the department.

If you have any questions regarding your eligibility to take the written test, please contact TDLR — do not contact IHS. Applicable fees are paid directly to IHS upon registration for taking the test.


Practical Test

TDLR has contracted a third-party vendor, PSI, to develop and administer the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Practical State Licensing Examination, which are the two practical skills licensing tests for the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Program. For information about the PSI testing program or, if you are eligible, to register, go to www.psiexams.com.

Eligibility

To be eligible to take the practical test, you must either hold a current temporary training permit, or apply as an out-of-state license holder.

TDLR will approve temporary training permit holders to take the practical test once the direct supervised practicum has been completed and the Temporary Training Permit Supervised Practicum Affidavit (PDF) has been approved by the department.

Once your qualifications have been reviewed, and you have been found to meet the eligibility requirements, you will receive an eligibility email notice from PSI. The email includes instructions for registering and scheduling your practical test.

Testing Requirements

You should closely read and review the Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF) as soon as you are approved to take the test. This document provides information on ID requirements to take the test, fee payment information, test content, test site locations, dates, and more.  Please refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF) for complete details.

Required Materials

Candidates are required to print and bring the Audiogram (PDF) to their Hearing Instrument Fitter and Dispenser Practical Test.

For the Audiometric portion, candidates are additionally required to bring a model of their choice who is at least 18 years of age and to print and bring the Release of Liability & Indemnity Agreement in the Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF).


Test Results

The applicant must pass the written test and the practical test.

Test results will be sent to your mailing address on file, when they become available. Please ensure that your contact information is kept current.

If you do not pass an test, you may retake the failed test for as long as your temporary training permit or out-of-state license remains valid. There is no limit to the number of times you may re-take a test, but a new test fee will be required each time you take the test.


Practical Test Pass/Fail Rates

Fiscal Year 2021 (September 2020 - August 2021)

License Type

Pass

Fail

Tot

Rate

No Show

Practical - Audiometric

46

17

63

73.02%

2

Practical - Ear Impression

55

3

58

94.83%

2

Total

101

20

121

83.47%

4

Fiscal Year 2020 (September 2019 - August 2020)

License Type Pass Fail Tot Rate No Show
Practical - Audiometric 49 17 66 74.24% 1
Practical - Ear Impression 51 7 58 87.93% 1
Total 100 24 124 80.65% 2

Fiscal Year 2019 (September 2018 - August 2019)

Practical Test Portion Pass Fail Total Pass Rate
Practical – Audiometric 65 22 87 74.71%
Practical – Ear Impression 67 11 78 85.90%
TOTAL 132 33 165 80.00%