On this page:
All facilities where orthotics and prosthetics are provided by persons holding a Texas license must be accredited, unless the facility is a licensed hospital or other facility licensed under Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 4, Subtitle B. Facility accreditation is not required at facilities where only fabrication is done.
If a facility must be accredited (i.e., no exemption applies), the facility may not provide services until TDLR has approved the accreditation.
A facility will not be inspected prior to accreditation. In accordance with TDLR rules, a facility will be inspected at least once every two years. For more information, please review the page on Inspections and the TDLR rule regarding accreditation and inspections in §114.29(h) of the administrative rules.
A new application for accreditation is required for:
- A new facility.
- A new location or branch of existing, affiliated facilities.
- A new location of an existing facility that is relocating.
- A facility adding the prosthetic or orthotic category to an accreditation that is not expired, suspended or revoked.
- A facility for which the accreditation has expired or has been terminated.
- An existing facility that has been transferred to new ownership, regardless of prior accreditation status.
Facility accreditation must be renewed every two years. The process for renewal is the same as for initial accreditation.
If a facility is found to be in violation of the statute or administrative rules, the accreditation will not be renewed until the facility has corrected the violation(s) to the satisfaction of the department.
Once a renewal is issued, the accreditation renewal must be affixed to or displayed with the original accreditation.
Application and Fee
To apply for an accreditation, submit a completed Facility Accreditation Application Form (PDF) along with the associated fee (listed below) and all required documentation.
|Type of Accreditation||Fee|
|Prosthetist or Orthotist Facility||$400|
|Prosthetist and Orthotist Facility (Combined Facilities)||$500|
The application for accreditation must include the following items:
- A scaled floor plan of the facility indicating the total square feet in the facility and clearly showing the location of parallel bars.
- Labeled photographs of each room and hallway clearly showing wheelchair accessibility and privacy protections for patients.
- Labeled photographs of the facility entrance clearly showing wheelchair accessibility.
- Labeled photographs of all laboratory and fabrication areas.
TDLR does not require a specific number of photographs with your application. Please submit enough photographs to show that your facility meets all the rule requirements for accreditation. Photographs should clearly show the items listed below, and should be labeled to allow identification of each item. (For example, a photograph may show both the parking and facility entrance, as well as the wheelchair accessibility of the entrance.)
- Parking area.
- Facility Entrance with wheelchair accessibility.
- Restrooms with assistance rails and wheelchair accessible sinks.
- Exam rooms with privacy features and armchairs.
- Waiting room with armchairs.
- Hallways and doors showing wheelchair accessibility.
- Rails with a free-standing or wall-mounted mirror.
- Laboratory/Fabrication area.
If you are attempting to obtain certification for more than one facility, you must submit a single Facility Accreditation Application Form (PDF) and separate addendum pages for each additional site to be accredited.
Accredited facilities must have the following staff and comply with the following conditions:
An accredited facility must be under the on-site clinical direction of a practitioner licensed by TDLR in the discipline(s) for which the facility is accredited. For an orthotic facility, the applicant must designate an orthotist-in-charge. Likewise, for a prosthetic facility, the applicant must designate a prosthetist-in-charge. Combined facilities must either have a single person who is an orthotist/prosthetist-in-charge, or two persons: one orthotist-in-charge and one prosthetist-in-charge. The practitioner(s) in charge will supervise the provision of prosthetics or orthotics in accordance with the law and administrative rules.
Residency Program Director
Facilities providing professional clinical residencies must have a residency program director to provide direct and indirect supervision of residents. The program director must be on-site as appropriate in accordance with the responsibilities in §114.30 of the administrative rules. The program director must be a Texas licensed practitioner whose license is in the same discipline in which the professional clinical residency is being conducted.
An accredited facility must designate at least one person as the safety manager. The safety manager must develop, carry out, and monitor the safety program for the accredited facility. This person may be the same person who is the practitioner-in-charge. For multiple facilities, the applicant must designate a safety manager for each facility.
General Requirements for Accredited Facilities
Once approval is granted, accredited facilities are responsible for complying with the requirements in the administrative rules at §114.29(e) "General requirements for accredited facilities."
Change of Ownership
A change of ownership of a facility occurs when there is a change in the person(s) legally responsible for the operation of the facility, whether by lease or by ownership.
The new owner of a prosthetic or orthotic facility must apply for accreditation within ten business days after the change in ownership.