Apply for a Combative Sports Judge License
On this page:
What Does a Judge Do?
Judges are responsible for scoring the performances of the participants in a match.
Do I Need a License?
Professional combative sports judges who officiate a regulated professional event must be licensed.
You must prove your qualification by meeting one of the two training pathways below:
Method 1: Training Program
You can demonstrate your qualification by performing the duties of a judge in at least five events while under the supervision of the department.
During this time, you will be responsible for observing and completing score cards for all contests at each event.
Method 2: Prior Experience
Experience can be proven by meeting at least one of the following conditions:
- You have at least three years of active experience as a judge, and you have officiated at least 10 events per year
- You have previously held a Texas combative sports judge’s license that was previously in good standing, but has expired
- You are currently licensed (in good standing) as a judge in another state that has substantially equivalent licensing standards to those of Texas
- You are currently licensed (in good standing) as a judge by the World Boxing Council, World Boxing Association, International Boxing Federation, or World Boxing Organization.
You must provide with your application packet test results showing visual acuity in each eye of at least 20/40 corrected.
The test must have been performed by a licensed Optometrist or licensed Ophthalmologist no more than three years before the application.
Application and Fee
To begin your application, submit a completed Combative Sports Judge License Application Form (PDF) and include the non-refundable fee of $100.
You must be at least 21 years old to apply for a judge’s license.
Send the completed application form and any required materials by mail to TDLR.
- By Fax: (512) 463-1087
- By Mail:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Combative Sports Program
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157
Prohibited Actions and Behavior
Licensed judges who violate the laws and rules may be subject to fines of up to $5,000 per occurrence and suspension, revocation, or denial of their license.
- If your judge’s license is approved, you cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in any contestant.
- Licensed judges cannot participate in any illegal combative sports events.
- Combative sports contestants may not be licensed as a judge or otherwise perform duties of a judge.
- A person who is an officer or director of a Ranking Organization may not act as, and may not be licensed as a judge.
For a complete list of penalties, see the Combative Sports Penalties and Sanctions webpage.
Responsibilities of Judges
It is your responsibility to read and understand the responsibilities of judges, the rules of the sport you will officiate and all relevant sections of the Texas law and rules for combative sports.
If you have questions about the law or rules, please contact TDLR by email, or call us at (512) 659-5034.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.