Property Tax Professionals
Renew your TDLR registration in TWO easy steps!
Step 1: A renewal form is mailed 95 days prior to the registration expiration date to the permanent address on file, which can be verified by going to TDLR License Search
Step 2: Go to renew your registration online and pay your fee with a credit card. Renewing online reduces the cost of processing your renewal and helps keep license fees low. You're done!
Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about obtaining a TDLR license or renewing a TDLR license that expired while serving on active duty, please go to the Military Outreach home page.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Sign up to receive important updates about the Property Tax Professionals program via email. You will receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. E-mail updates are the best way to stay informed.
News and Updates
Notice of Intent to Review Rules
August 24, 2018
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Department) is reviewing the Property Tax Professionals program rules (Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 94) for re-adoption, revision, or repeal. The Department will determine whether the reasons for adopting or readopting these rules continue to exist by answering the following questions for each rule:
- Is it obsolete?
- Does it reflect current legal and policy considerations?
- Is it in alignment with the current procedures of the Department?
The Department encourages anyone interested in the Property Tax Professionals program to review the Notice of Intent and current Chapter 94 rules. Comments may be submitted by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. The deadline for comments is September 24, 2018.
Notice of Vacancies on Texas Tax Professional Advisory Committee
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Department) announces two vacancies on the Texas Tax Professional Advisory Committee established by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1151. The purpose of the Texas Tax Professional Advisory Committee (Committee) is to recommend to the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) rules and standards regarding technical issues relating to tax professionals; provide advice to the Commission regarding continuing education courses and curricula for registrants; provide advice to the Commission regarding the contents of any examination required by the Commission under Chapter 1151; and educate and respond to questions from the Commission and the Department regarding issues affecting tax professionals. This announcement is for two members who represent the public.
The Committee is composed of the following seven members appointed by the presiding officer of the Commission, with the Commission’s approval:
- two members who are certified under this chapter as registered professional appraisers;
- two members who are certified under this chapter as registered Texas collectors or registered Texas assessors; and
- three members who represent the public.
A person may not be a public member of the committee if the person or the person's spouse: is registered, certified, or licensed by a regulatory agency in the field of property tax appraisal, assessment, or collection; is employed by or participates in the management of a business entity or other organization regulated by or receiving money from the department; owns or controls, directly or indirectly, more than a 10 percent interest in a business entity or other organization regulated by or receiving money from the department; uses or receives a substantial amount of tangible goods, services, or money from the department other than compensation or reimbursement authorized by law for committee membership, attendance, or expenses; or at any time has served on an appraisal review board.
A person may not be a member of the committee if: the person is an officer, employee, or paid consultant of a Texas trade association in the field of property tax appraisal, assessment, or collection; or the person's spouse is an officer, manager, or paid consultant of a Texas trade association in the field of property tax appraisal, assessment, or collection.
A person may not be a member of the committee if the person or the person's spouse is required to register as a lobbyist under Chapter 305, Government Code, because of the person's activities for compensation on behalf of a profession related to the operation of the Committee or the Department.
Members serve terms of six years, with the terms of one or two members expiring on March 1 of each odd-numbered year.
Interested persons should submit an application on the Department website at: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/AdvisoryBoard/login.aspx. Applicants can also request an application from the Department by telephone (800) 803-9202 or e-mail email@example.com.
Verification of CAD Employees
The Chief Appraisers can verify the CAD's employees by going to TDLR's Property Tax Professional Renewal Status Search page. If an employee is not listed, please complete the Change of Employment Notification form and send it to TDLR. If an employee is listed but is no longer working at the CAD, you should notify us by email of the employee's status.
You do not need to do anything if the listing of employees is correct. If an employee is not listed on the CAD list, please complete the Change of Employment Notification form and send it to TDLR. If an employee is listed but is no longer working at the CAD, you should notify us of the employee's status. Email is preferred but if you want to mail the form or notification of your employee changes to us, please use the address at the bottom of this notice.
Individual Property Tax Professional (PTP) registrants should verify and update their personal contact information by going to the License Contact Information Changing Site. Keeping this information current is important for TDLR to communicate with the PTP registrant.
Chief Appraiser’s Ethics Course
Beginning January 1, 2015, all Chief Appraisers must have completed a Chief Appraiser’s Ethics continuing education course in order to renew their Appraiser (RPA) registration. Property tax professionals may review their current continuing education hours and courses at TDLR’s Continuing Education Course Look Up page. The Chief Appraiser’s Ethics course may also be used to satisfy the ethics continuing education requirement for other property tax professionals who are not chief appraisers.
Questions? Please contact the Tax Professional program at TDLR is by e-mail or call TDLR Customer Service at 1-800-803-9202.
Advisory Committee Meetings
November 1, 2018 Meeting
The next Texas Tax Professional Advisory Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, November 1, 2018, at 1:00 p.m., in the 1st Floor Public Meeting Room of TDLR's North Campus, located at 1106 Clayton Lane, Suite 125E, in Austin. When the agenda and staff reports are available, they will be posted online. The meeting will be broadcast on TDLR's YouTube channel.