Apply for a Vehicle Storage Facility Company License
On this page:
Before You Apply
You must have an insurance policy for your vehicle storage facility from an insurance company licensed and authorized to do business in Texas. All certificates of insurance must contain a provision stating that the insurer will notify TDLR 30 days before the cancellation of an insurance policy.
The name and address on the certificate of insurance must exactly match the name and address on your application form. It is your responsibility to notify TDLR if your name or address changes and to provide updated proof of insurance.
Minimum Coverage Requirements
|Vehicle Storage Facility Capacity||Coverage Amount|
|50 or fewer vehicles||$9,000 per claim|
|51 – 99 vehicles||$18,000 per claim|
|100 or more vehicles||$25,000 per claim|
Insurance policies must be kept current at all times. For further information, please see section 85.400 of the administrative rules.
Drug and Alcohol Testing Policy
VSF companies must adopt a drug and alcohol testing policy for employees.
You can choose from one of three options:
- Select the TDLR Model Drug Testing Policy
- Choose a TDLR-approved drug testing consortium, or
- Create your own drug testing policy. Mail, fax, or e-mail a copy of your drug testing policy to us for review and approval.
- Companies seeking to use an independent policy should submit their policy along with their application materials and state their intention to use an independent policy in a written notice. The filing must describe how the independent drug and alcohol testing policy is at least as stringent as each provision of the model policy provided in §85.725(a).
For more specific information on Drug Testing Policy rules and regulations, please see Section 85.725 of the Administrative Rule
Application and Fee
When you are ready to apply, please contact our Customer Service division at (800) 803-9202 to request a new account be created in the TOOLS online registration system.
A member of the Licensing Team will contact you to set up your application over the phone, and provide you with a certificate and PIN number. This certificate and PIN number will allow you to complete the application online at your convenience.
The non-refundable application fee is $250.
VSF company licenses are valid for a period of one year from the date of issue.
After you have submitted the application and paid the fees, you will need to contact your insurance company and provide them with your certificate number. The insurance company will then send your policy information electronically to TDLR.
We accept walk-in registration applications. You can fill out a paper application in our office lobby during business hours. All fees must be paid by check or money order.
Our office is open 8am-5pm, Monday-Friday.
We are located at:
920 Colorado St.
Austin, TX 78701
Incomplete applications or applications that require an extensive review of criminal background information may take longer.
Checking Your Application Status
You can check the status of your VSF Company application using our online TOOLS system. You must have a certificate and PIN number to use the TOOLS system.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
As part of the application process, all controlling persons of your company, including owners partners, principals, officers, and general managers, must successfully pass a criminal background check conducted by TDLR.
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.