Renew a Tow Truck Permit
On this page:
Application and Fee
Complete your renewal application form and pay the non-refundable application fee of $75 per truck.
Proof of Insurance
You cannot renew your truck permit unless you have an active insurance policy filed in the TOOLS system, submitted by your insurance underwriter.
You must continuously maintain an insurance policy for your tow truck from an insurance company licensed and authorized to do business in Texas. All certificates of insurance must contain a provision stating that the insurer will notify TDLR 30 days before the cancellation of an insurance policy.
The name and address on the certificate of insurance must exactly match the name and address on your application form. It is your responsibility to notify TDLR if your name or address changes and to provide updated proof of insurance.
Minimum Coverage Requirements
|Permit Type||Liability Insurance||Cargo or Cargo on Hook Insurance|
|Incident Management Towing||$500,000||$50,000|
|Private Property Towing||$300,000||$50,000|
|Consent Towing||$300,000||Not Required|
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.
Renewal of Expired Permits
A tow truck with an expired permit may not be used for towing on the public roadways in Texas.
If a permit has been expired for 90 days or less, you may renew the permit by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to 1-1/2 times the normally required renewal fee.
A permit that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may be renewed by paying the department a renewal fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
On approval by the executive director (see Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form - PDF), a permit that has been expired for at least 18 months but less than three years may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
If your permit has been expired for three years or more, you must apply for a new permit.