Apply for a New Well Driller/Pump Installer Apprentice Registration
On this page:
Do I Need to Be Registered?
You may assist a licensed driller or pump installer as an unlicensed assistant without being registered as an apprentice, provided that you meet the following criteria:
- You are not primarily responsible for the drilling or installation operations
- You work under the direct supervision of a licensed driller or installer (as applicable) who has held their license in Texas for at least 2 years
- The license holder must will be present at the well site at all times while you perform drilling and/or pump installing operations
- You do not contract, bid, advertise or accept payment for drilling or pump installing services
To qualify for an apprentice registration, you must be at least 18 years of age and work under a licensed driller or installer who has held their license in Texas for at least 2 years.
Application and Fees
To apply for an apprentice registration, submit a completed Well Driller/Pump Installer Apprentice Registration Form (PDF) with the non-refundable fee listed below:
|Well Driller Apprentice||$65|
|Pump Installer Apprentice||$65|
|Combination (Well and Pump Apprentice)||$115|
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.