Renew a Water Well Driller and/or Pump Installer License
On this page:
Continuing Education Requirements
You must complete 4 hours of continuing education to renew your license, including one hour in Texas law and rules.
For detailed information, please see the Continuing Education page.
Application and Fees
TDLR will send renewal notifications by mail approximately 60 days prior to your license's expiration date. It is your responsibility to renew your license before it expires. Be mindful of your expiration date, and contact TDLR if you have not received a renewal notification.
|Combination (Well and Pump)||$325|
A driller or installer license is valid for a period of one year from the date of issue.
Upgrading an Existing Driller or Installer License
You may add endorsements or an additional license type (driller or installer) to your existing license by submitting a new Well Driller and or Pump Installer License Application (PDF) , including proof of meeting the qualifying number of installations or drillings, and paying the non-refundable application fee as listed in the tables below:
|Endorsement Type||Required Drillings||Fee|
|Water Wells (W)||15||$25|
|Monitor Wells (M)||50||$25|
|Injection Wells (N)||50||$25|
|Dewatering Wells (D)||50||$25|
|Closed Loop Geothermal Wells (C)||50||$25|
|Master Driller (A)||All above endorsements required||$25|
|Endorsement Type||Required Installations||Fee|
|Single Phase Pumps (P)||15||$25|
|3 Phase Pumps (K)||15||$25|
|Turbine Pump (T)||15||$25|
|Windmill, Pump jack, hand pump||15||$25|
|Master Installer (I)||All above endorsements required||$25|
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.
Renewal of Expired Licenses
A person whose license has expired may not legally offer well drilling or pump installation services in Texas.
If a license has been expired for 90 days or less, you may renew the license by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to 1-1/2 times the normally required renewal fee.
A license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may be renewed by paying the department a renewal fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
|License Type||Duration Expired||Fee|
|Well Driller or Pump Installer||90 days or less||$322.50|
|Well Driller or Pump Installer||91 days to 18 mo.||$430.00|
|Well Driller or Pump Installer||18 mo. to 3 years||$430.00**|
|Combination (Well and Pump)||90 days or less||$487.50|
|Combination (Well and Pump)||91 days to 18 mo.||$650.00|
|Combination (Well and Pump)||18 mo. to 3 years||$650.00**|
** On approval by the executive director (see Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form - PDF), a license that has been expired for at least 18 months but less than three years may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
If your license has been expired for three years or more, you must apply for a new license and take the licensing exam again.