Renew a Service Company License
On this page:
To renew a service company license, you must maintain proof of maintaining a minimum of $25,000 per occurrence or $50,000 aggregate of general liability insurance coverages.
Your insurance coverage must be obtained from an admitted company or an eligible surplus lines carrier, as defined in the Texas Insurance Code, Chapter 981, or other insurance companies that are rated by A.M. Best Company as B+ or higher.
Calibration of Test Standards
You must maintain test standards have been certified on an annual basis by a recognized or accredited laboratory that adheres to ISO 17025 standards.
You must maintain at least one test standard per licensed device category listed below:
- Low flow: five-gallon or greater test measure or prover
- High flow: prover with a capacity that exceeds the amount of liquid delivered by the device in one minute at the maximum flow rate
Application and Fee
A renewal form will be sent to you 65 days prior to your expiration date. Include the non-refundable fee with your renewal form, as specified below:
- $300 for the first device category *
- $200 for each additional category *
Service Company licenses are valid for a period of two years from the date of issue.
Renewal of Expired Licenses
If your license has expired, you may not perform any device maintenance activities until your license has been renewed.
If your license has expired within the past 18 months, then you may renew by paying an increased fee, as shown below.
If your license has been expired for over 18 months, but less than 3 years, you must submit a completed Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form (PDF) and include the renewal fee.
Your fee will depend on how long your license has been expired:
|Date of Expiration||Renewal Fee|
|90 days or less||1.5 times the normal fee|
|91 days – 18 months||2 times the normal fee|
|18 – 36 months||2 times the normal fee **|
|36+ months||Non-renewable ***|
** Licenses that have been expired for over 18 months must include a completed Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form (PDF).
*** Licenses that have been expired for over 3 years cannot be renewed, and you will need to re-apply for a license as a new applicant.
Criminal History Check
Effective September 1, 2020, all controlling persons for a service company are subject to a criminal history check.
The criminal history section of the application form must be completed for each controlling person of the business.
A criminal history check is required with all new license applications.
Any licensees who were previously licensed by Texas Department of Agriculture will be subject to a criminal history check on their first renewal at TDLR.
A controlling person is any individual with the authority to set policy or direct the management of a business entity. This may include, but is not necessarily limited to:
- A sole proprietor of a business
- General partners of a partnership
- A controlling person of a business entity that is a general partner of a partnership
- Top-level managers (e.g. general manager, operations manager, etc.)
- Officers of a corporation (e.g. chief executive officer, chief operations officer, chief financial officer, etc.)
- Any individual who possesses direct or indirect control of at least 25 percent of the voting securities of a corporation
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If any controlling person in your company has ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
TDLR will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.