Massage Therapy Examination Requirements
No examination is required for massage therapy instructors, continuing education providers, or the owners of massage therapy establishments or massage therapy educational programs.
TDLR’s mission is to honor the trust of all Texans, safeguard the public, and provide a fair and efficient licensing and regulatory environment at the lowest possible cost. TDLR will continue to administer the Massage Therapist Jurisprudence Examination through third-party vendor eStrategy Solutions. Please note, the jurisprudence exam is no longer a requirement for Massage Therapy Continuing Education Providers or for Massage Therapy Establishments.
The Texas Massage Therapist Jurisprudence Examination content is based on the state rules and laws relating to the practice of massage therapy. All applicants for initial licensure must submit proof of completing the jurisprudence examination at the time they submit a completed application form (Apply Online or see Texas Massage Therapist License Application PDF). Applicable fees are paid directly to the third-party vendor for the jurisprudence examination.
Please note, upon paying the jurisprudence exam registration fee, your exam must be completed within 30 days. After 30 days, your fee and registration will expire and your exam will be invalidated. To take the jurisprudence exam again, you will need to re-register and pay a new fee.
Massage Therapist National Licensing Exam
To obtain a Texas massage therapist license, TDLR requires a passing score on the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEX) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Applicants for a Texas massage therapist license must submit their FSMTB exam results with their license application (Apply Online or see Texas Massage Therapist License Application PDF).
In order to be eligible for licensure, the applicant must meet one of the following conditions. All supporting documentation (transcripts, exam results, etc.) must be included with the application.
- Applicant first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007, has completed the course, and passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
- Applicant first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007, has completed the course, and is currently licensed in another state in good standing. The applicant has also passed an acceptable national exam or another state's (non-national) licensing exam. The exam may have been taken more than two years ago.
- Applicant has completed a 500 or 500+ hour course and has passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
- Applicant has completed a 500 or 500+ hour course and has taken and passed an acceptable exam within the last two years.
Individuals who currently hold a valid massage license in another state may have additional licensing options. Please see the Out of State Applicants page.
NOTE: The current Board certification examination (the BCETMB exam) from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), is not an acceptable licensing examination.