TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Legislation

Commission Adopts Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 77, §§77.40-77.42 and 77.70, and the repeal of §77.93, regarding the Service Contract Providers and Administrators program. The adopted rules implement House Bill (HB) 1560, 87th Legislature, Regular Session (2021), which repealed the former Residential Service… Read More about Commission Adopts Rules

Information Relating to the Texas Driving with Disabilities Program

Driver Education and Driving Safety curriculums must include information about the Texas Driving with Disabilities Program no later than September 1, 2024. Driver Education and Driving Safety providers must update their curriculums and complete the Statement of Assurance Transaction (SOA) in the TDLR Online Licensing Services System to show that their course has been updated…. Read More about Information Relating to the Texas Driving with Disabilities Program

Commission Adopts Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 91, §§91.10, 91.20, 91.22 – 91.24, 91.27 – 91.30, 91.50 – 91.55, 91.57, 91.58, 91.66, 91.73, 91.74, 91.76, 91.77, 91.80, 91.90 – 91.92, 91.100 – 91.105, 91.107, 91.112, and 91.202; adopted new rules at §§91.61 –… Read More about Commission Adopts Rules

Commission Adopts Rules

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 111, Subchapter A, §111.2; Subchapter U, §111.201; and Subchapter W, §111.220; and adopted a new rule at Subchapter A, §111.3, regarding the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists program.  The adopted rules implement changes made to Texas Occupations… Read More about Commission Adopts Rules

Motorcycle Instructor Training Provider License

A new endorsement, Instructor Training Provider, will be added as an option for the Motorcycle Instructor license effective January 1, 2024. This endorsement was created by Senate Bill 478 (88th Legislature Regular Session). Instructors must hold a current certification to conduct a TDLR-approved instructor training course issued by the course owner or administrator. Please contact your curriculum provider for… Read More about Motorcycle Instructor Training Provider License

New Fingerprint Requirement

Beginning January 01, 2024 – Motorcycle Instructors will be required to submit fingerprints as part of their license application in accordance with Transportation Code, Chapter 662, Section 662.0063. Check back here for further updates.

January 1, 2024: New Requirements for Pump Security Go Into Effect

If not already equipped with at least two of the items listed below, no later than January 1, 2024, owners or operators of fuel pumps are required to install new security measures to protect their devices from tampering, as required by Texas Admin. Code §97.31. These new rules that went into effect on September 1,… Read More about January 1, 2024: New Requirements for Pump Security Go Into Effect

Change In Minimum Age for ACR Registered Technicians

HB 1859 (88th Regular Legislative Session, 2023) amended Section 1302.5035 of the Occupations Code to lower the minimum age of a registered technician from 18 years of age to 16 years of age. As of September 1, 2023, a person 16 years of age or older may apply to become a registered air conditioning and refrigeration… Read More about Change In Minimum Age for ACR Registered Technicians

Electric Vehicle Charging Stations are Regulated by TDLR

TDLR is responsible for creating a regulatory framework for electric vehicle charging stations, making rules for the installation and operation of electric vehicle supply equipment, as well inspecting charging stations and administering consumer protections and consumer complaint procedures. Senate Bill 1001 (88th Regular Session) became law on June 18, 2023. The law: TDLR has until Dec. 1,… Read More about Electric Vehicle Charging Stations are Regulated by TDLR

Senate Bill 2017 Enacted

Senate Bill 2017 by Senator Judith Zaffirini was passed by the Texas Legislature during the 88th Legislative Session. The bill was signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott on June 18, 2023. SB 2017 amends current law relating to the regulation of hearing aids and the practices of audiology and the fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments…. Read More about Senate Bill 2017 Enacted