Renew a Motorcycle Safety Instructor License
On this page:
A valid motorcycle license is required. You must have held the license for at least two years prior to the date of application.
Applicants will not be eligible to apply if they have within the past 3 years been convicted of:
- 3 or more moving violations, or
- 2 moving violations that resulted in an accident
A “moving violation” is defined by Texas Transportation Code §542.304.
First Aid and CPR Certification
A current first aid and adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification is required to apply for an instructor license.
The certification must be from a nationally recognized provider with training courses that require in-person attendance, provide hands-on skills practice, and meet or exceed the standards of the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Your contact information, including your mailing address, email address, phone number, and your legal name must be kept current. You must notify TDLR in writing of any changes to your information.
To update your information, complete an Motorcycle Instructor Change of Information or Duplicate License Request (PDF) and submit the form with your renewal application.
If you changing your contact information without a license renewal application, send the completed to TDLR by secure upload or by mail at:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157
Application and Fee
If you meet all requirements listed above, you may renew your license by submitting a completed license application form along with the non-refundable application fee of $50.
An instructor license is valid for two years after the date of issuance.
TDLR will send renewal notifications by mail and email approximately 60 days prior to your license's expiration date. It is your responsibility to renew your license before it expires. Be mindful of your expiration date, and contact TDLR if you have not received a renewal notification.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for or renew a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.