Mold Assessors and Remediators
On this page:
Mold assessment activities include an inspection, investigation, or survey of a dwelling or other structure to provide the owner or occupant with information regarding the presence, identification, or evaluation of mold, the development of a mold management plan or remediation protocol, and the collection or analysis of a mold sample. Mold remediation means the removal, cleaning, sanitizing, demolition, or other treatment, including preventive activities, of mold or mold-contaminated matter. The industry is regulated to ensure that persons conducting mold assessment and remediation services in Texas are properly trained and licensed, and are following minimum standards that protect the health of workers and building occupants.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Sign up to receive important notices about changes to rules, statutes, fees, examination requirements, upcoming meetings and more. Email updates are the best way for you to stay informed.
News and Updates
Mold Assessment and Remediation Exam Improvements
January 31, 2019
Effective June 1, 2019:
- New! Content outline guidance with score report feedback
- Updated reference list of study materials
- No increased cost – exam fees are still $60
Please see the Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF) for details.
TDLR Health Monitor - December 2018 Edition
December 14, 2018
Articles in this December 2018 edition of The Health Monitor include updates on:
- the upcoming Texas legislative session
- administrative rules for orthotists and prosthetists program and podiatry program
- prescription pads and prescription monitoring requirements for podiatrists
- upcoming conferences and meetings
- federal guidelines on over-the-counter hearing aids
- guidelines for applicants with criminal convictions
The TDLR Health Monitor is a quarterly newsletter that provides news and information about TDLR’s medical and health-related programs. Archives of past editions of the TDLR Health Monitor can be viewed here.
Justification for Adoption of Administrative Rules
August 10, 2018
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules regarding the Mold Assessors and Remediators program (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 78, §§78.58, 78.60, 78.62, 78.64, 78.70, 78.74, 78.80, 78.120, 78.130 and 78.150).
The adoption justification may be viewed on TDLR’s web site and the updated rule chapter will be made available upon its effective date of September 1, 2018.
Filing Mold Remediation Notifications
October 27, 2017
Mold Remediation Companies and Contractors: To file, amend or cancel a mold remediation notice, use TDLR's Mold Remediation Notification System. The fee for a residential or commercial mold remediation project is $25. There is no fee to amend or cancel a notification.
October 27, 2017
TDLR has a contract with DSHS for DSHS to continue to perform mold remediation inspections. DSHS inspectors will have access to the notifications, amendments, and cancellations filed through the Mold Remediation Notification System. DSHS inspectors will check licensing requirements, record-keeping, and compliance with the protocol and workplan. They will also ensure proper workplace practices are in place. DSHS inspectors will explain any violations that are noted, what corrective actions to take, and give you a chance to ask questions.
Inspection results fall into one of the following three categories:
- No Corrections Needed – No action required. Your project is in compliance.
- Corrections Needed – Make corrections.
- Violations Sent to Enforcement – Make corrections. The DSHS inspector will submit a report detailing serious violations to TDLR. Someone from TDLR’s Enforcement Division may contact you regarding the violations.
Transition from DSHS to TDLR
1. When did the transfer happen?
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) assumed all activities relating to the Mold Assessors and Remediators program including licenses and renewals, customer service and enforcement on November 1, 2017.
2. Now that the transfer is complete, will I need to get a new license issued by TDLR?
No. The license you have now, issued by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), remains valid until its expiration date. When you renew, you will receive a TDLR license.
3. Have the rules changed?
Yes, TDLR adopted rules for all of the transferred programs. Most of the newly adopted rules are very similar, but some changes have been made. The TDLR health profession rules became effective on November 1, 2017.
4. What is going to happen with open complaints and cases?
If you filed a complaint with DSHS or had a complaint filed against your license and it was not resolved by the transfer date, TDLR assumed responsibility for the case. You should have already received notification by mail that your complaint was transferred to TDLR.
5. How do I stay informed about changes impacting me?
You have several options to stay connected:
- Email updates - Sign up for email updates to receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. Email updates are the best way for you to stay informed.
- Meetings - TDLR’s advisory board and Commission meetings are available to watch online live or later at your convenience.
- Facebook and Twitter - TDLR has a Facebook page and Twitter account dedicated to TDLR Health Professions.
6. Why was my license expiration date extended? Will I have the same expiration date in the future?
To ease the transition, DSHS extended the expiration date by two months for licenses previously set to expire in September, and October, and November 2017. For example, if your original expiration date was September 30, your new expiration date is November 30. If your license was extended, you will continue to renew your license in the new expiration month in the future. Licenses in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey were also extended by DSHS.
7. Will I have to renew on a different schedule?
You will renew on the same schedule unless your license expired in August, September or October 2017. Licenses expiring in those months were extended for two months to ease the transition from DSHS to TDLR. In addition, licenses in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey were also extended by DSHS. If your license was extended, you will now renew in your new expiration month for future renewals. Your license expiration date will not return to your original expiration month.
8. Why were licensing programs transferred from DSHS to TDLR?
The transfer is the result of a change to Texas law. In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, which authorized the transfer of thirteen licensing programs from the DSHS to TDLR.