TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Apply for an Esthetician License

Education and Training

Before applying for an Esthetician license, you must complete an Esthetician course consisting of 750 hours of instruction at a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas.

Students enrolled in a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas will be issued a student permit while in training.

Find a School

If you did not receive your training in Texas, please see the Apply for a Cosmetology or Barbering License by Equivalence page.

Combination Specialist Licenses

An Esthetician license may be combined with either a Manicurist license or a Hair Weaving Specialist license to create a single combination Manicurist/Esthetician license or a single combination Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license.

The education and training requirements for each are:


Examinations

You must pass written and practical licensing exams to obtain an Esthetician license, a Manicurist/Esthetician license, or a Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license.

After completing all training requirements, you will become eligible to take the written and practical exams. Our third-party vendor (PSI) will send you an email confirmation with instructions for scheduling an appointment to take the examination.

Please see the exam information page for complete details.


Application and Fee

Once you have passed both the written and practical exams, you may apply for your license. The non-refundable application fee of $50 must be paid when you apply.

Apply Online

You must be at least 17 years old to apply.

Esthetician, Manicurist/Esthetician, and Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.

Applying By Mail

You may also apply by mail using a printable PDF application form.

Most applicants should generally apply online for faster service.

Combination License Types

Manicurist / Esthetician license

If you currently hold both an active Esthetician license and an active Manicurist license, you may upgrade to a combined Manicurist / Esthetician license by submitting a completed license application form (PDF) by mail and paying the non-refundable application fee of $50.

Persons who previously held a cosmetology manicurist license before 9/1/2023 may apply online. Online licensing will become available to all Manicurist/Esthetician license holders in Spring 2024.

Hair Weaving Specialist / Esthetician license

If you currently hold both an active Esthetician license and an active Hair Weaving Specialist license, you may upgrade to a combined Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license by submitting a completed license application form (PDF) by mail and paying the non-refundable application fee of $50.

Online licensing will become available to all Hair Weaving / Esthetician license holders in Spring 2024.


Applicants with Criminal Convictions

If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.

The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.

Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.

Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.