- Renew a License
- Apply for a License
- Manage Your License
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Elimination of Architectural Barriers Athletic Trainers Auctioneers Barbering and Cosmetology Behavior Analysts Boiler Safety Code Enforcement Officers Combative Sports Court-Ordered Education ProgramsDietitians Driver Education and Safety Dyslexia Therapy Electricians Electric Vehicle Charging Stations Elevator / Escalator Safety Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Industrialized Housing and Buildings Laser Hair Removal Licensed BreedersMassage Therapy Midwives Mold Assessors and Remediators Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Motorcycle and ATV Operator Safety Orthotists and Prosthetists Podiatry Professional Employer Organizations Property Tax Consultants Property Tax Professionals
- Continuing Education
- Contact Us
Denial of License Renewal due to Non-Payment of Child Support
On this page:
If you are delinquent in paying court-mandated child support, the Texas Attorney General may require that your license be placed in a “non-renewable” status until a resolution is reached.
The conditions that can lead to a non-renewable license include:
- Non-payment of child support for 3 months or more
- Failure to make payments as part of a repayment schedule
- Not appearing for a court date after receiving a subpoena
- Failure to comply with the terms of a court order providing for the possession of or access to a child
If you have received a non-renewable notice, you may continue to use your license until it expires. Once expired, you may not use your license.
Continuing to use your license after expiration may result in penalties and fines. It may also potentially expose you to civil lawsuits from persons who you provide services to.
Removing a Non-Renewable Status
TDLR does not have the ability to renew your license while it is marked as “non-renewable” and we cannot remove this status without direct authorization from the Texas Attorney General.
The law requires that your license must remain suspended until you:
- Pay all delinquent child support or establish a satisfactory payment record
- Appear for any subpoenas
- Comply with the terms of any court orders providing for the possession of or access to a child (e.g. custody agreement)
Contact the Office of the Attorney General’s Child Support Division to settle any delinquent status and to remove the suspension of your license:
- Website: Child-Support Division Contact
- Phone: (800) 252-8014
Petitioning a Hearing
You have the right to petition the Texas Attorney General’s Child Support Division or a court to request a hearing and a motion to stay the suspension of your license. For complete details, see Texas Family Code 232.07 and Texas Administrative Code, Part 3, Chapter 55.
You must make this request within 20 days of notice that your license has been suspended and non-renewable. The notice will be delivered to your mailing address on file at the Texas Attorney General’s office. It is your responsibility to keep your mailing address current.
Contact the Texas Attorney General’s office for more information on how to request a formal hearing. You may also hire an attorney to petition a court on your behalf.
Renewing Your License
After resolving any amounts you owe, the Attorney General’s Child Support Division will issue a release of the non-renewable status on your license. TDLR cannot renew your license until we have received this authorization.
You may be responsible for late fees if your license has expired.
Late Renewal Fees
If your license has been expired for 90 days or less, you may renew the license by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to 1-1/2 times the normally required renewal fee.
A license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may be renewed by paying the department a renewal fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
On approval by the executive director (see Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form - PDF), a license that has been expired for at least 18 months but less than three years may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.