- Renew a License
- Apply for a License
- Manage Your License
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Elimination of Architectural Barriers Athletic Trainers Auctioneers Barbering and Cosmetology Behavior Analysts Boiler Safety Code Enforcement Officers Combative Sports Court-Ordered Education ProgramsDietitians Driver Education and Safety Dyslexia Therapy Electricians Electric Vehicle Charging Stations Elevator / Escalator Safety Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Industrialized Housing and Buildings Laser Hair Removal Licensed BreedersMassage Therapy Midwives Mold Assessors and Remediators Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Motorcycle and ATV Operator Safety Orthotists and Prosthetists Podiatry Professional Employer Organizations Property Tax Consultants Property Tax Professionals
- Continuing Education
- Contact Us
Apply for a Hair Weaving Specialist License
On this page:
Education and Training
Before applying for a Hair Weaving Specialist license, you must complete a Hair Weaving Specialist course consisting of 300 hours of instruction at a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas.
Students enrolled in a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas will be issued a student permit while in training.
If you did not receive your training in Texas, please see the Apply for a Cosmetology or Barbering License by Equivalence page.
Combination Esthetician License
A Hair Weaving Specialist license may be combined with an Esthetician license to create a single combination Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license. To qualify for this license, you must either:
Complete an 800 hour Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician course at a Texas barbering/cosmetology school
-- OR –
- Complete 300 hours of Hair Weaving Specialist instruction and 750 hours of Esthetician instruction at a Texas barbering/cosmetology school
You must pass written and practical exams to obtain a Hair Weaving Specialist license or a Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license (if obtained through completion of the 800 hour combination course).
After completing all education and training requirements, you will become eligible to take the written and practical exams. Once TDLR has verified your eligibility to take the exams, our third-party vendor (PSI), will send you an email confirmation with instructions for scheduling an appointment to take the exams.
Please see the exam information page for complete details.
Application and Fee
After you have passed both the written and practical exams, you may apply online. The non-refundable application fee of $50 must be paid when you apply.
You must be at least 17 years old to apply.
Hair Weaving Specialist and Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.
Applying By Mail
You may also apply by mail using a printable PDF application form.
Most applicants should generally apply online for faster service.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process for a license application. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.