- Renew a License
- Apply for a License
- Manage Your License
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Elimination of Architectural Barriers Athletic Trainers Auctioneers Barbering and Cosmetology Behavior Analysts Boiler Safety Code Enforcement Officers Combative Sports Court-Ordered Education ProgramsDietitians Driver Education and Safety Dyslexia Therapy Electricians Electric Vehicle Charging Stations Elevator / Escalator Safety Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Industrialized Housing and Buildings Laser Hair Removal Licensed BreedersMassage Therapy Midwives Mold Assessors and Remediators Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Motorcycle and ATV Operator Safety Orthotists and Prosthetists Podiatry Professional Employer Organizations Property Tax Consultants Property Tax Professionals
- Continuing Education
- Contact Us
Renew a Driver Education Instructor License
On this page:
Texas Driver’s License
To renew your license, you must have a current and valid Texas class A, B, C, or CDL driver's license in good-standing without any suspensions or revocations.
You must complete at least two hours of continuing education in the subjects of driver education, driving safety, or instructional techniques. The coursework must be completed each license cycle before renewal.
See the continuing education page for more details.
Application and Fee
TDLR will email renewal notifications approximately 90 days prior to your license's expiration date. It is your responsibility to renew your license before it expires. Be mindful of your expiration date, and contact TDLR if you have not received a renewal notification.
Please remember that if you do not keep your contact information up-to-date with our office, your renewal notice may not reach you. Failure to receive a renewal notice does NOT excuse you from late fees.
Renewal of Expired Licenses
A license that has been expired for 90 days or less may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to 1-1/2 times the normally required renewal fee.
A license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than 18 months may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
On approval by the executive director (see Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal Form PDF), a license that has been expired for at least 18 months but less than three years may be renewed by paying to the department a renewal fee equal to two times the normally required renewal fee.
TDLR will check your driving record upon each renewal, and will conduct a criminal history background-check to ensure you do not have a conviction that may disqualify you from licensure.
Applicants with Criminal Convictions
If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation) or pleaded guilty or no contest (resulting in a deferred adjudication) to any in-state, out-of-state or federal criminal offense, you must provide a completed Criminal History Questionnaire (PDF) along with your application materials.
The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for or renew a license. Criminal convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Licenses may be denied based on the nature of the conviction and how long prior to the application the conviction occurred. Depending on your criminal history, a review can take from one to six weeks to complete.
Individuals may request TDLR review their criminal background before actually applying for a license. TDLR uses the same process for this pre-application evaluation as the process described below. See the Criminal History Evaluation Letter page for more information.
Please see the Guidelines for License Applicants with Criminal Convictions, which describe the process that TDLR uses to determine whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted.