TDLR Logo TDLR Logo

Site Navigation

Taking a Driving Safety (Defensive Driving) Course

A Driving Safety class is generally required to dismiss a traffic citation or for insurance discounts. The driving safety course is sometimes referred to as a Defensive Driving Class.

Ticket Dismissal

While anyone can take a driving safety course, there are specific legal requirements to using a driving safety class for ticket dismissal.

If you plan to use the course for ticket dismissal, you must first receive notice from the Texas court system that you are eligible to take a defensive driving course to dismiss the ticket. You will still be responsible for paying any fines and fees related to the ticket.


Finding a Course

You can search the internet, get recommendations from friends, or find a provider near your home.

TDLR cannot recommend a specific provider. Any licensed driving safety provider may offer a 6-hour course that can be used for ticket dismissal or insurance discounts.

Some providers offer online courses, while others require you to attend in-person. You must contact the provider to find out which delivery method they offer.

Once you’ve found a provider that you like, it’s a good idea to verify the provider’s license status using our license search tool.

Online Courses

Some providers offer online courses, while others require you to attend in-person.

You can choose the method that works best for you.


Completing the Course

Driving safety courses must generally be completed within a certain amount of time. Providers may require that you complete the course within a specific amount of time.

If used for ticket dismissal, the court will typically establish a date that the course must be completed by.


Certificate of Completion

The Texas Education Code requires that the certificate of completion be mailed or sent electronically to you, which provides a record of the transaction. You should receive your certificate of completion within 14 days of completing the course.

It is your responsibility to send the certificate of completion to the court and or insurance company.

If you do not receive your certificate of completion, or if you received a certificate that was incorrect due to errors on the provider’s part, then you can request another copy at no charge within 30 days of completing the course.

If you lose the certificate, you may request another copy from the provider, although the provider may charge a fee for this request.